The Voluntary Sector Awards were set up in 2014 to recognise the outstanding work carried out by the voluntary sector in our area. This bumper evening of entertainment and celebration has rapidly become the go-to event of the year.

And the winners and shortlisted are:

YOUNG VOLUNTEER – sponsored by Derby University
Winner: Jessie Hutchinson – Fairplay
Shortlisted: Bradley Dannatt – Loundsley Green Foodbank; Rudy Robinson-Barnes – Hasland Foodbank; Alivia Dawson – Junction Arts

LONG SERVICE VOLUNTEER – sponsored by Derbyshire County Council Public Health
Winner: Margaret Phillpot – Ashgate Hospice Charity Shop
Shortlisted: John Buxton – Chesterfield Care Group; Barry Glover – Royal Hospital; Marion Thorpe – Junction Arts

Winner: Danny Hanman and GraceWright – Ray Club
Shortlisted: Glenys Clinton – Chesterfield Care Group; Sarah Menzies – Chesterfield Foodbank; Lucie Maycock – Junction Arts

EMPLOYEE OF THE YEAR – sponsored by North East Derbyshire District Council
Winner: Emma Costello – Royal Hospital
Shorlisted: Ben Solfield – Rhubarb Farm; Helen Corcoran – The Hub at Chesterfield; Julie Lewis – Chesterfield Care Group; Darryl Chambers – Chesterfield Care Group

TEAM OF THE YEAR – sponsored by Brampton Brewery
Winner: The Royal Rider Team
Shortlisted: Help is Here (DUWC); Rhubarb Farm; MacIntyre Community Roast Team

INNOVATIVE PROJECT – sponsored by Digital:Framework
Winner: RhuBaby Project
Shortlisted: Baton of Hope Anthem (Georgia Bird Foundation; MacIntyre Community Roast; Snapp-it; Chestefield Childrens Festival (Junction Arts)

VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR – Chesterfield Borough Council
Winner: Ellie Scott – Georgia Bird Foundation
Shorlisted: Janet Solfield – RhuBaby; David Wilton – Macintyre; Stephen Knox MBE – Red Cross Emergency Volunteers

MANAGER OF THE YEAR – sponsored by John H. F. King Accountants
Winner: Lisa Williamson – The Tomorrow Project
Shortlisted: Jacqueline Deveaux – Chesterfield Foodbank; Steve Wright – Chesterfield Care Group

Winner: #proudtobebarrowhill
Shorlisted: Snapp-it; Careers that Care

ORGANISATION OF THE YEAR – INCOME UNDER 25K – sponsored by Armisteads
Winner: Georgia Bird Foundation
Shortlisted: Monkwood Community Foodbank; Rother Valley Youth Club

ORGANISATION OF THE YEAR – INCOME OVER 100K – sposored by BRM Solicitors
Winner: Fairplay
Shortlisted: RSPCA Chesterfield & North Derbyshire; Chesterfield Care Group; EMH Care and Support

Become a sponsor!

We are now inviting sponsors for the eleven awards at the gala evening in 2024. Leading companies are being asked to sponsor an individual award for a fee of £300. email Dave Radford for more information.

This is a superb opportunity for companies to be involved in the Awards which will undoubtedly produce a great deal of publicity.
Back to top